Welcome to Longfellow Books

Upcoming Events!

TUESDAY, JUNE 19th

The Captain's Daughter

By Meg Mitchell Moore

Please join us on Tuesday, June 19th at 7pm for a book talk with author Meg Mitchell Moore to discuss her new book, The Captain's Daughter.

"For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub comes an emotionally gripping novel about a woman who returns to her hometown in coastal Maine and finds herself pondering the age-old question of what could have been

Growing up in Little Harbor, Maine, the daughter of a widowed lobsterman, Eliza Barnes could haul a trap and row a skiff with the best of them. But she always knew she'd leave that life behind. Now that she's married, with two kids and a cushy front-row seat to suburban country club gossip in an affluent Massachusetts town, she feels adrift.

When her father injures himself in a boating accident, Eliza pushes the pause button on her own life to come to his aid. But when she arrives in Maine, she discovers her father's situation is more dire than he let on. Eliza's homecoming is further complicated by the reemergence of her first love--and memories of their shared secret. Then Eliza meets Mary Brown, a seventeen-year-old local who is at her own crossroad, and Eliza can't help but wonder what her life would have been like if she'd stayed.

Filled with humor, insight, summer cocktails, and gorgeous sunsets, The Captain's Daughter is a compassionate novel about the life-changing choices we make and the consequences we face in their aftermath."--Publisher Marketing

Check out other upcoming events here!

Check out This Week's Bestsellers!

1. The Futility Experts by Margaret Broucek

2. Calypso by David Sedaris

3. How to Change Your Mind by Michael Pollan

4. Less by Andrew Sean Greer

5. Walking Through History: Portland, Maine on Foot by Paul J. Ledman

6. The Color of Law by Richard Rothstein

7. Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

8. Warlight by Michael Ondaatje

9. I'm Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid

10. Into the Raging Sea by Rachel Slade

Click here for the rest of the bestseller list!

FREE SHIPPING ON GIFT CERTIFICATES!

If you're not sure what the perfect book might be...a Longfellow Books Gift Certificate is the perfect present.  And we'll be happy to mail it for you, free of charge.  Choose any amount that works for you, let us know what message you'd like on the Gift Certificates, and we'll get them straight out to your loved ones.  Of course, you're more than welcome to pop into the store and pick them up as well.  Order your gift certificates today!

 

USED BOOK MORATORIUM HAS ENDED!

That's right...we are taking in used books again!  But, as always, please only bring one box or one bag at a time. Thanks!

Longfellow News

Please check back here periodically!

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

No front page content has been created yet.