Gilded Summers (Paperback)

Gilded Summers By Donna Russo Morin Cover Image
$12.99
Not in stock, usually ships to store in 1-5 Days

Description


Two girls, Pearl and Ginevra, grow up in the singular moment known as the Gilded Age in Newport, Rhode Island--one lives above the stairs, the other below. These two young women must decide who they want to be in this world, and survive what it takes to get there...even if it includes murder.

Surrounded by Astors and Vanderbilts, Pearl fills her days with teatime and shallow friendships, yearning for something more. A chance meeting with Mary Cassatt sparks in her a secret desire to be an artist, a "new" woman. Meanwhile Ginevra, fresh off the boat from Italy, finds her own dreams out of reach as she joins the unwelcoming household as a servant and seamstress.

Kindred souls, the girls become fast friends but must keep their friendship hidden from Pearl's controlling and social-climbing mother. Each summer, they meet in a hidden spot beneath the weeping beeches to talk of art and life, their struggles to break the barriers of their lives, and to draw inspiration from the writings of Lucy Stone.

But before long, the realities of adulthood begin closing in on them. Accepting a "suitable" marriage proposal, Pearl tries her best to fit into her new role, while Ginevra begins to harbor feelings of jealousy and resentment. The two young women must decide who they want to be in this world, and survive what it takes to get there...even if it includes murder.

Going behind the fa ade of this glittering era, Gilded Summers is a gripping, richly detailed story of friendship, prejudice, and life-altering choices. The novel will appeal to fans of Downton Abbey and The Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780578506388
ISBN-10: 0578506386
Publisher: Donna Russo Morin
Publication Date: April 28th, 2018
Pages: 300
Language: English