Epilog: And Other Stories (The Complete Short Fiction of Clifford D. Simak) (Paperback)

Epilog: And Other Stories (The Complete Short Fiction of Clifford D. Simak) By Clifford D. Simak Cover Image
Not in stock, usually ships to store in 3-5 business days


A volume of eleven stories from the Hugo Award–winning science fiction author that explore inner space, future worlds, and the peculiar lives of robots.

One of the twentieth century’s most pioneering science fiction authors, Clifford D. Simak had a special fondness for robots. Not only did these thinking machines represent the boundless possibilities of technology, they also had the potential to bring—in his words—“the kindness and the courage that I thought were needed in the world.” The stories in this volume offer a variety of Simak’s unique robot visions.

In “Lulu,” a robot built for planetary exploration takes on a female identity, causing unforeseen challenges for her three-man crew. An examination of an unknown planet reveals the celestial body to be a single, gigantic computer whose origins and purpose are a mystery, in “Limiting Factor.” And in the title story, Simak returns to his longest-running robot character, Jenkins, who reflects on all that has come and gone one last time.

Each story includes an introduction by David W. Wixon, literary executor of the Clifford D. Simak estate and editor of this ebook.

About the Author

During his fifty-five-year career, CLIFFORD D. SIMAK produced some of the most iconic science fiction stories ever written. Born in 1904 on a farm in southwestern Wisconsin, Simak got a job at a small-town newspaper in 1929 and eventually became news editor of the Minneapolis Star-Tribune, writing fiction in his spare time.
Simak was best known for the book City, a reaction to the horrors of World War II, and for his novel Way Station. In 1953 City was awarded the International Fantasy Award, and in following years, Simak won three Hugo Awards and a Nebula Award. In 1977 he became the third Grand Master of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, and before his death in 1988, he was named one of three inaugural winners of the Horror Writers Association’s Bram Stoker Award for Lifetime Achievement.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781504083126
ISBN-10: 1504083121
Publisher: Open Road Media Sci-Fi & Fantasy
Publication Date: July 11th, 2023
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: The Complete Short Fiction of Clifford D. Simak