This Is Not a Novel and Other Novels (Paperback)

This Is Not a Novel and Other Novels Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now: Please call ahead to be sure inventory is not being held for other customers.
2 on hand, as of Apr 11 6:32pm


David Markson was a writer like no other. In his novels, which have been called hypnotic, stunning, and exhilarating and earned him praise from the likes of Kurt Vonnegut and David Foster Wallace, Ann Beattie and Zadie Smith. Markson created his own personal genre. With crackling wit distilled into incantatory streams of thought on art, life, and death, Markson's work has delighted and astonished readers for decades.

Now for the first time, three of Markson's masterpieces are compiled into one page-turning volume: This Is Not a Novel, Vanishing Point, and The Last Novel. In This Is Not a Novel, readers meet an author, called only Writer, who is weary unto death of making up stories, and yet is determined to seduce the reader into turning pages and getting somewhere. Vanishing Point introduces us to Author, who sets out to transform shoeboxes crammed with note cards into a novel. In The Last Novel, we find an elderly author (referred to only as Novelist) who announces that, since this will be his final effort, he possesses carte blanche to do anything he damn well pleases.

United by their focus on the trials, calamities, absurdities and even tragedies of the creative life, these novels demonstrate David Markson's extraordinary intellectual richness--leaving readers, time after time, with the most indisputably original of reading experiences.

About the Author

David Markson is the author of five novels, including Springer's Progress, Wittgenstein's Mistress, and Reader's Block. He is the recipient of several awards and fellowships, including a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, and a Salon Book Award. He lives in New York City.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781619027145
ISBN-10: 1619027143
Publisher: Counterpoint LLC
Publication Date: March 15th, 2016
Pages: 496
Language: English