Bear Witness (An Alaska Untamed Mystery #1) (Hardcover)

Bear Witness (An Alaska Untamed Mystery #1) By Lark O. Jensen Cover Image
$26.99
Not in stock, usually ships TO STORE in 3-5 business days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the An Alaska Untamed Mystery series.

Description


Alaska tour boat guide Stacie Calder faces the deep freeze in this scenic cozy series debut perfect for fans of Paige Shelton.

No nine-to-five cubicle career will suit Stacie Calder—the naturalist much prefers working in the great outdoors. Specifically, the spacious and spectacular Alaskan wilderness, whose rugged charms she shares with sightseers on the top deck of the tour boat where she works. But one May afternoon, Stacie’s passengers see more than glittering glaciers, frolicking harbor seals, climbing bears and soaring seabirds…they also witness a man lying dead in the frigid Alaskan waters. And it seems likely that someone gave him a fatal push.
 
Stacie didn’t know the unfortunate victim, but he sure wanted to know a lot about her. He spent most of his final afternoon bombarding her with questions quite awkward to answer. And when he wasn’t in her hair, he was arguing incessantly with the boat’s beleaguered crew. Which makes for a suspect list about as long as the passenger manifest. Furthermore, as police helicopters relentlessly circle her boat in search of any clues, Stacie is shaken to find herself on that suspect list.
 
Before the tour boat reaches shore Stacie—accompanied by her beautiful blue-eyed husky, Sasha—must deduce just who sent the testy tourist tumbling into the turgid waters and have the authorities take custody. Because if she can’t, then the killer might aim a fatal ice-cold stare at Stacie.

About the Author


Lark O. Jensen, a former lawyer who is now a full-time writer, has published 53 books so far, including mysteries and romantic novels.  She has written several cozy mystery series including the Barkery & Biscuits Mysteries and Superstition Mysteries for Midnight Ink, and the Kendra Ballantyne, Pet-Sitter Mysteries and Pet Rescue Mysteries for Berkley Prime Crime.  She also writes romances for Harlequin, including Harlequin Romantic Suspense.  Her latest release is Colton First Responder, for Harlequin Romantic Suspense.  Nearly all Lark's current stories involve dogs!

Praise For…


Praise for Bear Witness:
“Jensen nicely balances the crime solving and Stacie’s personal life, and dog lovers will cheer Sasha’s heroics. Cozy fans will eagerly await the sequel.”
Publishers Weekly

“A new series that will appeal to nature lovers and those who like a little romance in their cozy mysteries . . . [Kept] me guessing until the end.”
Seattle Book Review

“A mystery buffs delight from first page to last. Original, compelling, entertaining throughout.”
Midwest Book Review

"Lovely landscape, colorful characters, and a smart, likable heroine. What more could a cozy fan ask for! A charming debut. I can’t wait for the next one!"
—Deb Baker, award-winning author of Murder Passes the Buck

“A fun whodunit . . . especially for dog lovers!”
—Maddy Hunter, author of the Passport to Peril mysteries

“Fans of outdoor adventure cozies will love this intriguing new series . . . Jensen’s extensive knowledge of Alaska and its wildlife enriches the story.”
—Hannah Dennison, author of The Island Sisters Mysteries

“With her sensational descriptions of scenery and wildlife, Lark O. Jensen takes readers on a virtual vacation to awe-inspiring Alaska in Bear Witness. I had a rollicking time riding along with animal expert and tour guide Stacie Calder as she insinuates herself in a murder case. A cold-hearted killer, a warm and fluffy husky, and a hot, hunky investigator round out this charming cozy mystery.”
—Diane Kelly, author of Getaway with Murder and the Paw Enforcement mysteries

“By any other name, Lark O. Jensen writes from a real-life passion for animals and other marvels of the natural environment. It’s no wonder, then, that her latest protagonist, boat tour guide Stacie Calder and Stacie’s husky pup Sasha, end up in Alaska, where there’s an unmatched abundance of wildlife and spectacular views. In Bear Witness Jensen gives us an engaging amateur sleuth and a satisfying mystery surrounded by ice floes and glaciers, Alaskan birds and harbor seals, porpoises and whales, bears and wolves. Enough variety to keep the most expectant tourist—and reader—happy.”
—Camille Minichino, author of the Alaskan Diner mysteries (as Elizabeth Logan)
Product Details
ISBN: 9781643858968
ISBN-10: 1643858963
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: May 10th, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: An Alaska Untamed Mystery