A Dictionary of the Vulgar Tongue 2022 Daily Calendar (Calendar)

A Dictionary of the Vulgar Tongue 2022 Daily Calendar Cover Image
$15.99
Special Order- Subject to Availability

Description


b>This day-to-day desk calendar features hundreds of humorous terms from 18th-century London for a year's worth of colorful conversations.

Calling all potty-mouthed wordplay lovers and history buffs! Based on the Classical Dictionary of the Vulgar Tongue, first published in 1785 and one of the earliest collections of English slang, this funny and useful calendar offers a daily dose of wordplay, swear words, and insults from Georgian-era London's urban dockyards, slums, and taverns 365 days of the year.

A Dictionary of the Vulgar Tongue 2022 Daily Calendar is perfect for history fanatics, English majors, and anyone wanting to spice up their language.

• 6 x 5 1/8 x 1 1/8 inches
• 314 tear-away pages
• Daily dose of linguistic humor
• Easy display for your home or office
• Perfect for fans of The Shakespeare Insult Generator and Creative Cursing

About the Author


Captain Francis Grose (1731–1791) was an English lexicographer with a special interest in documenting the language as it was actually spoken in the streets, taverns, and markets.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781797210636
ISBN-10: 1797210637
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: August 17th, 2021
Pages: 628
Language: English